The Music of McCoy Tyner

< Back

Monday August 22, 2016

From St. Louis Public Radio

The Music Of McCoy Tyner
By: Dennis Owsley

Jazz Unlimited for August 21, 2016 is ‘The Music of McCoy Tyner.’ Pianist McCoy Tyner has been a powerful presence since he was part of the classic John Coltrane quartet from 1960 to 1965, but his uniqueness and artistry have been overshadowed by that tenure. We will focus on his performances and compositions without Coltrane to bring his unique style of harmony and rhythm to Jazz Unlimited. Tyner will be heard with Joe Henderson, Michael Brecker, Grant Green, the Jazztet, Freddie Hubbard, a Blue Note All-Star group and Wayne Shorter. His compositions will be played by the Blue Note Seven, Freddie Washington, Ahmad Jamal, a Swedish group called ‘The Groove,’ Bobby Hutcherson, and Joe Lovano.

To listen to the show click here (available until August 29, 2016)